My students are growing up. This is my fourth year at the high school, which means for the first time, students that I’ve taught since they were freshmen are now about to graduate. I’ve known Tiffany since she was just a young’un photo clubber. Now she’s finished all the photography classes we have to offer, and she’s doing an independent study with me. The semester culmination of that was a gallery show, and we had the closing reception this week. Wow, these kids. I’m so proud of them.

gallery_0

gallery_1

gallery_3

gallery_4

gallery_2

I made a really difficult decision this week. An elementary art teacher in my district is retiring, and I’ll be taking over her role next year, leaving the high school. There are a lot of reasons for me to make the switch and I’m feeling confident about my choice. Still, it’s bittersweet. I will really miss being part of the transformation these kids are going through, helping them become the best adults they can. This has been more than a job for me.

