We had a field trip today, although it was possibly the most miserable day I could have chosen for it. Just barely above freezing, with harsh winds and, would you believe it, hail at one point. Tapioca snow for the rest of the morning; you know, those fluffy little white balls, just between snow and hail. My kids were troopers, though. Well, for the most part. There was a fair amount of, “Hutch, why? Don’t you love us anymore?” And me: “This hurts me as much as it hurts you,” to which Katie replied, “But you have a whole other person to keep you warm!”

We were there for a service learning project, taking photos for the conservancy organization to use for their yearly calendar fundraiser. The due date for the photos is next week, so no rain date – I’d put off the trip as long as possible, hoping for spring flowers. Not quite. But still, a beautiful landscape.

pheasant_branch5

pheasant_branch2

pheasant_branch3

pheasant_branch1

pheasant_branch6

pheasant_branch4 copy

Oh man, look how miserable Katie looks in that last photo. If you’re thinking less of me as a teacher right now, I did make them chamomile tea when we got back. And I had reminded them only a gazillion times to dress warmly. I was the same way in high school, though. Layering hoodies instead of wearing a real coat. I guess we’ll just sum it up as a character building experience.

