My mom’s birthday is just two weeks after Mother’s Day, so normally Molly and I celebrate them with one trip home and a more extravagant present, a holiday we call Mirthday. This spring things were a little crazy. The visit got pushed around a bit, and we weren’t able to get everyone home at the same time, but I got to celebrate Mirthday with my mom this weekend. It made for a really nice last pre-baby mother/daughter hurrah, complete with garage sale shopping spree, breakfast at Harry’s Diner, and some time in the garden.

mirthday1 copy

mirthday3

mirthday4

We filled the planter that Drew and I gave her, and she dug up some bleeding hearts for me to use in my long unpopulated shade beds. Garage sales yielded more clothes for Juniper, which is the last thing she’ll need (she’s likely to grow out of the 0-3 month stuff before she’s worn all that she’s got), but I was weak, and it turns out my mother is a terrible influence in that regard. Classic grandma in waiting.

It was a really nice weekend. Relaxing, after all the hubbub of school ending. A good start to the summer.

