Ok, I know I’ve got another month or more to wait before these are in season here, but I couldn’t help myself.

treats1

Treats for mama…

treats2

…and treats for the chicks.

treats3

Initially they didn’t seem to understand that this was food, despite what I’ve read about chickens going crazy for watermelon. I had to break it up into little pieces and offer it to them from my hand – something they’re trained to do, but that I’ve been avoiding. Now that they’re bigger they get so excited, a lot of the time they miss the food and nip me instead.treats5

treats4

treats6 copy

They figured it out after a while. Little cuties.

The flock will be getting smaller soon. I’m pretty confident about which ones are the roos – we ended up with an even split, five and five. Luckily at least one of each breed was a hen, and two of my favorite: the Easter Eggers. Hopefully my boys will be off to their new home in the next day or two. The coop is getting a little cramped.

And my little Bunk-a-lunk has been a serious sweetie of late. It seems like she knows a change is a’comin. She just follows me around and sits by my feet most of the day.

Ha, I just realized that soon females will outnumber males in the house eight to one. Poor Drew.

