Our good friends Dave and Rachel were married in Atlanta this weekend. It was a gorgeous wedding and a really nice trip away – our first overnight without Junip. She stayed with Gigi and Papa in Chicago, and from the texts Beth sent me, it looks like she had an easier time of it than I did. But when I wasn’t pining away over my baby, I was having a lot of fun.

atlanta02

atlanta03 copy

atlanta04

We had the whole day to ourselves on Saturday. After breakfast at the Flying Biscuit, we wandered around Piedmont Park and then went to check out the High Museum of Art.

atlanta05

atlanta06

atlanta07

The wedding was at the Summerour Studio – a really beautiful venue (former shoelace factory, now occupied by an architecture firm, so tastefully updated, as you can imagine.) We were seated with a bunch of Rachel’s NIH colleagues, who were much better conversation partners than stereotype would imply. And man, those scientists boggied! They had a live, seven piece band playing a very danceable mix of soul and pop. Not surprising they had great music; Dave and Rachel are both audiophiles.

atlanta09

atlanta08

atlanta10

atlanta11

So yeah: we stayed up late, danced our butts off, got to spend an amazing weekend with a lot of our closest friends, and in general, rocked it. Even so, I was basically elbowing people out of my way once the plane landed back in Chicago; couldn’t wait another second to see my Junebug. Luckily, I had today off, so we got some quality time in. We put away all her baby toys and busted out the big girl toys! So we are officially into this stage now:

lego1

Legos everywhere! Let the mess begin!

