I didn’t want to experience Junip’s first birthday party from behind a camera lens, so it took me a while to round these all up (photos by my dad, my former coworker Chris, and my friend Mandy), but here it is! Junip’s first birthday party.

first_birthday3

first_birthday2

This girl loves her some ice! And yeah, I know the baby Heimlich and watch her like a hawk, don’t judge me! But get a load of that face! Love it.

Juniper's first birthday, 2014

Momo made her the sweetest tent – complete with lights inside! And I didn’t get a shot of it, but Todd carved her an amazing wooden puppy on wheels that she’s been rolling around since – or pushing sideways as the case may be; she’s still learning the concept of wheels.

first_birthday4

Drew made his paella (yum). It’s hard to get a sense of the scale in this shot, but yeah, the pan is big enough to rest over our fire pit grate. It feeds like 30 people.

first_birthday6

Juniper's first birthday, 2014

first_birthday7

She was a little confused by the huge group of people surrounding her singing, and she didn’t immediately grasp that the giant cupcake in front of her was food, but once she got a taste of that buttercream frosting, all bets were off.

photo 1

Happy birthday little lady!

 

