Happy Halloween, all!

So, let me preface this by saying I was working under pressure, with Drew and I having decided only last night to take the plunge and go to a friend’s party (which starts at 8) despite not having a babysitter. Yeah, I’ll let you know how that works out. If the junebug can remain charming until 8:30, I’ll consider it a success.

Anyways, on top of needing to come up with last minute costumes for Drew and I, our friend Chad texted me this morning asking for help with costumes for him and his girlfriend. We both had the day off, so we made an early morning St. Vinny’s run and came up with this: the sun for me, one nice green leaf for Drew (actually it turned out as more of a tree, but the idea was, with Junip as ladybug we make an Eric Carle book), and furry monsters for Chad and Mallory. After much hot glue and more of the day than I’d like to admit, we ended up with this:

halloween2014_1

halloween2014_2

halloween2014_3

halloween2014_4

We are kinda mixing books, but no matter. The hungry caterpillar stuffed animal is built-in entertainment for the munchkin, and it brings the Carle reference home.

Photos of Chad and Mallory to come! She was at work during costume production, but I think she’ll be happily surprised: the horns we made are pretty sweet. Anyways, not my best (nothing will live up to the year of the functioning stoplight) but not too shabby, either. Now for the sugar and dancing!

Edit: Here are Chad and Mallory!

halloween2014_5

