Last night Junip pulled the magnetic notepad off the fridge, dropped it on the floor, and ran to the other room. I was putting it back up when she reappeared, pen and several highlighters in hand. She wanted to draw!

drawing2 copy

drawing1

She did that whole thing by herself! Like, totally by herself, no prompting! Now I realize this might be the sort of masterpiece that only a mother or elementary art teacher could love, but I really think it’s pretty amazing.

I wrote this post a few days ago, but reading it, I realized I left out what I really wanted to say, which is why I think it’s so amazing. Have you ever seen Werner Herzog’s ‘Cave of Forgotten Dreams’? You should. It’s a documentary about the paintings in Chauvet Cave, and it literally had me in tears (and I am not a teary kind of girl) thinking about what it means to be human, and how art is a part of that. We need to make things, to see our marks, to make our thoughts visible… to try to get our fingers, literally, on the half-formed ideas that don’t quite fit into words. I think it’s why art and spirituality have always gone hand in hand. And to see that compulsion, in its own little baby way, coming from my little girl… well, it was just pretty amazing.

