When we went to Bend earlier this year, there was a lot of talk of Drew and Scott as half naked toddlers, little besties harassing the neighborhood with their squirt guns and big wheels. They didn’t stay neighbors, didn’t go to the same schools, didn’t stay in daily contact, you couldn’t really say they stayed best friends. But you have a buddy like that, a friend that you understand and love, and it doesn’t matter if a month or a year, or seven, has gone by; you see each other and you pick up where you left off. It’s like riding a… big wheel.

All of which is to say, I wonder if these two will be at each others’ weddings 20, 30 years from now. I wonder if the first best friend always sticks. I suppose my own experience tells me otherwise, but I hope, for them, it does. These kids who met as wobbling little tots when Juniper’s entire vocabulary consisted of “cheese” and animal noises. Who weathered the age of tantrums, understanding there is not necessarily any contradiction when describing a play date by saying, “We had fun. We cried a lot.” Who have learned to share and collaborate and plot and moon walk and run while holding hands.

K’s family is moving a few hours away come summer, which is no surprise, but the reality of it is just setting in for me. Looking back at photos from the last few play dates and a girls’ weekend up north has me a little mushy. I know, they are only three, there will certainly be more best friends to come. But that doesn’t change the fact that they will soon each be missing their first best bud, and I know what that feels like, and I’m sorry.

Quinn, of course, found her own little buddy in Minocqua. Lets Q just walk all over her  😉

Anyways, so glad I’ve been able to watch these girls growing up together so far. Will definitely be enjoying the next couple months and soaking up the company while we can.

