As long as I’m playing photo catch-up, I’m gonna take it way on back to Easter, so you can all appreciate the amazing tie-dye eggs Junip and I snuck in during Q’s nap (no, I’m not brave enough to release Quinn near the dye yet. Not by a long shot.) They were messy but awesome, and June painted a family portrait with the left over dye. The eggs have been sitting in a bowl on the credenza since – I’m kind of afraid the whole yard will reak when I throw them in the compost and I’m putting it off. Eh.

We also made pet rocks a few weeks back – J named this one Cricket, and I keep finding him in precarious situations around the house. Like, dangling from the ‘high wire’ of Junip’s pull toy, tied to the closet door and a chair. But Junip makes it up to him by inviting him to some fabulous tea parties.

Quinn’s insistence on choosing her own clothes is reaching new heights, and rubbing off on Junip. Here it was costumes, today it was coats. She napped in it, ate her meals in it, painted in it. I couldn’t get it off her and decided it was easier to wash than to argue over. The child has a stubborn streak a mile long. Yesterday it took us twenty minutes to get out the door because I only had two pairs of her favorite crew socks, and neither of them was her favorite color. Can you believe I’m writing about a one-year-old? “I want PINK socks!” (I offer her another pair of pink socks) “Uh UH!”

Juniper has upped her fort building game. Luckily now they’re generally stable enough that Quinn can join her without destroying it. Thank goodness. Also, I have to say, I think she really rocks the underwear-and-sunglasses look.

And my last little tidbit to share, a morning run through Ohlbrich Gardens on Drew’s day off. We smelled a lot of flowers, pointed at some fish, watched a quail take a dust-bath. It was a cold and gloomy morning, which I just have no patience for, this close to summer, so it was a relief to run around in a tropical bubble for an hour.

And in non-photographed news, we’ve been busy in the garden – Drew built two new raised beds and we finally planted an asparagus bed. I put in a plum tree, too, so that will be a fun addition to the fruit harvest.

Oh, and Juniper’s correspondence with her buddy Emmett is as dedicated and adorable as ever. Today she made a painting of them holding hands, and on the back had me transcribe, “Dear Emmett, I love you so much. Thank you for the happy card. Your happy friend, Juniper.” We got to Play and Learn and Emmett was waiting with a box he’d decorated, containing a dried pasta necklace he made for her. *Melt*

And my little Quince has been starting out each day with requests for pigtails and cereal, and to draw. I need to figure out a way to get more one-on-one time with her, so we can get into to the messy projects I did with J at this age. I love how eager she is for it. I’m thinking I might buy a block of clay for the girls this summer. There’s a kiln at the makerspace where I’m a member, and I think they could manage pinch pots or at least some slab impressions. Maybe make a little tea set. It really feels like we’re entering big kid territory now! Cheers to that.

